back to home

Oklahoma City

The Oklahoma City Thunder are a professional basketball franchise based in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. They play in the Northwest Division of the Western Conference in the National Basketball Association (NBA);[1] their home court is at Chesapeake Energy Arena.[2] The Thunder's NBA Development League affiliate is the Tulsa 66ers, who are owned by the Thunder.[3] The Thunder are the only team in the Big Four North American sports leagues in Oklahoma.

Formerly the Seattle SuperSonics, the team relocated in 2008 after a dispute between owner Clay Bennett and lawmakers in Seattle, Washington. The SuperSonics qualified for the NBA Playoffs 22 times, won their division six times and won the 1979 NBA Championship. In Oklahoma City, the Thunder qualified for their first playoff berth during the 200910 season. They followed this success by winning their first division title as the Thunder in the 201011 season.

Favorite Player: Kevin Durant