nhlThe Original Sixnhl
newyork chicago toronto boston montreal

The Original Six is a term for the group of six teams that composed the National Hockey League (NHL).  The NHL, comprising the Boston Bruins, Chicago Blackhawks, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadians, New York Rangers, and Toronto Maple Leafs, remained stable for a quarter century.  These terms are collectively known today as the “Original Six”.  This period ended in 1967 when the NHL doubled in size by adding and expanding teams.

  • New York Rangers (founded 1925).
  • Chicago Blackhawks (founded 1926, known as the "Black Hawks" throughout the period.
  • Toronto Maple Leafs (original Toronto Arenas franchise was charter member of the NHL in 1917; renamed Maple Leafs in 1927).
  • Boston Bruins (founded 1924).
  • Montreal Canadians (founded 1909; charter member of the NHL in 1917).
  • Detroit Red Wings (founded 1921; moved from Victoria, BC; originally named Cougars, then Falcons).

Resources used to make this site.